The Obligatory New Year’s Post

I’ll try to keep this simple, as I know reading about how other people’s years have had “ups and downs” and “good times and bad times” can get real old real fast. But, I did make some goals for the New Year, and one of them is to write more so here goes.

This year has been full of surprises for me.

  • We brought another dog into our home, and even more shocking is that he was a puppy. It was our first ever puppy experience, and while it was pure hell there for a while, that dog has given me more joy than I thought possible.
  • We purchased our first home. Never in a million years did I think we would have purchased our home by now, but the timing was right and everything fell into place. We found a home we love, and the stars aligned just right for us.
  • I changed jobs. Really just a lateral move, from one hospital ER to another, but it was a good move for me and I’m pleased with my decision. Less stress = happier me.
  • My parents and brother moved out to *state I live in now*. I hadn’t been back home in almost a year, which means I haven’t seen my dad or my brother in that long. My mom and I had a girl’s weekend in that timeframe, but it was getting harder and harder to make the trek back home. Having them so close has it’s pros and cons but overall I’m happy they’re here.
  • I started writing (somewhat) professionally. My writing has been published on my state nursing association’s blog on the regular and in the state magazine, and I’ve since been asked to write for the magazine regularly as well. I never expected such a positive response from my writing, but I’m thrilled that I can combine my career and my passion, and I’m optimistic that my writing will continue taking me places. (Which, if you don’t already know, is my ultimate goal).

My plan for 2017 is simple. I plan to become more the person I want to be. I want to stop making mental lists (and blog posts) of the things I’ll do someday and start just doing them. I want to stop wasting so much precious time. So I’m going to actually write the things, take the vitamins, do the workouts, and travel all the places.

We’re starting out the New Year with a mini-vacation to the state park/cabin we visited this year (a private cabin on top of a huge hill, front porch sauna, nature hikes with the dogs…what more could I ask for?!), before I have surgery at the end of the month and can’t walk for 2 months. Boo. I decided that even though we can’t go for long (vacation time should be unlimited!), it’s worth going. We will make memories, unwind, experience nature, give the dogs the time of their lives (which are much shorter than us humans), and relax. It’s worth it. I’ve already looked into other destinations for these mini-vacations, and I’m super excited.

Throughout the year I want to continue making changes to our house, adding the things we want and making it our own, get into better physical shape and lose weight (who doesn’t have this goal?), improve my writing and get more exposure, and save more money and pay off debt (again, me and everyone else…).

If my family and I are happy, healthy, stable, have a roof over our heads and food on our table by the end of this year, I’d say it’s been a successful year.

 

Leave a comment